Learning Disability Today
Supporting professionals working in learning disability and autism services

England learning disabilities cricket team announced

A 14-man England Learning Disabilities cricket squad has been announced, which will take part in a tri-series with Australia and hosts South Africa in November.

The party, led by wicketkeeper Gavin Randall, will play four 40-over matches against South Africa and Australia, with the two teams with the most points playing in the final on Saturday, November 26. Six England debutants will be looking to impress head coach Derek Morgan as the team aim to go one better than 2009 where they were defeated by Australia in the final.

ECB national disability cricket manager Ian Martin said: “I’m delighted to see the Learning Disabilities Tri-series tournament in its fourth year. We have a number of young players coming through the ranks that will get the experience to represent their country in the competition. “The opportunity to play international cricket is something these players work so hard for and it’s fantastic that the ECB continues to support disabilities cricket and make international competitions like these possible.”

The opening game of the series will see England take on South Africa at the De Beers Diamond Oval, Kimberley, on Thursday 17 November. England Learning Disabilities squad:

  • Gavin Randall (Hampshire, captain)
  • Peter Brown (Isle of White)
  • James Dickens (Somerset)
  • Christopher Edwards (Cheshire)
  • Jonathan Gale (Surrey)
  • Ainsley Harriott-Gayle (Surrey)
  • James Higgins (Kent)
  • Lee Jay (Hampshire)
  • Daniel Levey (Kent)
  • Mark O’Brian (Cheshire)
  • Callum Rigby (Shropshire)
  • Tom Savage (Northamptonshire)
  • Lee Stenning (Surrey)
  • Tayler Young (Surrey)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More